GIVEAWAY: God’s Whisper Manifesto

Part of me has always wanted to live in a real community. Not just people that happen to live together on a street and wave to each other when your walking to the car to leave. I dreamed of something like a commune, where people live and work together. I’m a firm believer that we are all in this together, whether or not we’re directly connected with one another. We don’t exist in bubbles, and as much as we like to think, especially in the United States, that we are “rugged individualists,” the fact is that we aren’t. We are dependent upon one another in so many ways. We need one another for company, for strength, for edification, for sustenance, and for comfort. This cannot be denied. And when I am with people, even though I do like my time alone, I feel better.

I “met” Andi Cumbo last year, when I took an online writing class that she offered upon the recommendation of my only local writer friend, Becca Rowan. She had taken her class and couldn’t say enough about Andi. Since then, I’ve been hooked by her teaching and her writing over at Andilit. She’s helped to make me a better writer, and her encouragement and feedback has meant the world to me.

When she bought God’s Whisper Farm, I was thrilled for her–a dream come true for a friend. I love it when my friends are successful and reach for what they want. I take joy in the fact that I know people who achieve their dreams. When she decided to write a manifesto, a statement of what she wanted to accomplish at God’s Whisper, I couldn’t wait to read it because I knew that it would be amazing.

I was right. This short, concise, and lovely book describes Andi’s vision for God’s Whisper. A place of respite, creativity, and rejuvenation. A place of peace, quiet, and contemplation. A place for people to make music, food, and stories. A place to find comfort in the presence of others who want to build, grow, and learn. In other words, this place that I had imagined many times over the years. A community where people float in and out as needed. A community where people share bread, wine, story, and song (and probably some good cheese, too.) A community where it’s okay to be alone. A community where your personal choices are respected. A community in the mountains of Virginia with gorgeous mountains surrounding you. A community where a warm bonfire awaits you after a day of contemplative wandering over hills and woods. A community of love and acceptance.

This is a place where I’d like to visit. More than once. I got to visit it for the first time in my imagination with the help of Andi’s beautiful manifesto. It will inspire you, I promise. It makes me dream of a “God’s Whisper North” on the shores of some lake, big or small, right here in Michigan.

I’d also like to point out that she plans to have baby goats on the farm. I’m a sucker for baby goats.

If you’d like to read about God’s Whisper, I’ll be giving away a copy of the e-book right here on my blog. In order to enter, please leave a comment below. I will use a random number generator to pick the winner. You have until 5pm on March 24th to enter.

Tell me about the community that you dream of. What does it look like? What would it do for you? How do you hope it would make you feel?

You can buy Andi’s book HERE.

P.S. Please, subscribe to my blog! You’ll get a notification of every new post. I’ve been writing more lately, and I hope you’ll find some good stuff here. An update on my memoir progress is forthcoming.

4 Comments

  1. I’m so happy you and Andi found one another. You seem like kindred spirits to me 🙂 I hope you get to visit God’s Whisper someday – even more I hope you get to see all YOUR dreams come true.

  2. Loved the book, and love Andi’s dream! No need to enter me in the drawing.

  3. Rebecca

    This is lovely, Rachel. I am so excited to be a witness and sometimes wanderer with you.

  4. Hi all, here every one is sharing such experience, therefore its good to read this webpage, and I used to pay a quick visit this blog all the time.

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Heavy Truth

The weight comes off, but the journey never ends

Writers Write

A writer, writing.

God's Whisper Farm

Just a Few Acres of Quiet

Breaktheweight.com

Inspiration to break through all that weighs each of us down

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Nancy Pen Lens Blog

Writer and Photographer

Trend.Shook.co

Shook. Community powered.

Some Smith's

looking forward to heaven, learning to walk on earth, letting Love heal all

One Dad

Marriage. Children. Life. Loss. Love

So Says Ced

Not so random and miscellaneous musings from of a youth pastor, obsessed with good coffee, and admitted sports-aholic

Keeks

Living a better story by sharing

I Have the Floor

Gear, guitars, entertainment, sports, politics from Greg Pinelo

HUMAN Detroit

bringing the D to the planet

Write On Wednesday

A Writer's Roundtable

Deal It Forward @ Lifesta

The Fun Side of Daily Deals

Young Workers Movement

Documenting and Building America's Young Workers Movement

Elizabeth Ellis

Mondo Zivvie: Musings and occasional brilliance from the middle coast

